The Board of Public Works (also known as the Board of Works and Safety) is responsible for the administrative management of the City of Columbia City. The Board is made up of the Mayor and two of the Mayor’s appointees. The Board has many roles and responsibilities including entering into contracts, accepting new public infrastructure, spending money, and managing most city departments. The Board meets on the Second and Fourth Tuesdays of each month at 5:00pm in the Council Chambers on the 2nd floor of City Hall.

Mayor Ryan Daniel 

There is no office in government closer to the people than the Mayor of a City. I am thankful for the opportunity to continue serving the citizens of Columbia City since 2012. Prior to my first election, I served as a Program Manager and Community Liaison in the Indiana Office of Community and Rural Affairs. I am a Columbia City High School Graduate (2003) and a Anderson University Graduate (2007) with a Bachelors of Arts degree in Political Science. I am married to Reverend Amanda Daniel and have a daughter, Aria. It is an honor to serve as Mayor of my hometown. I enjoy working with great businesses, organizations, and people to improve our community for current and future generations. We invite you to consider joining us for a weekend or decide to stay for a lifetime. We are building a future together and we want you to join us!
I welcome the opportunity to hear your comments and/or concerns. or on Facebook at Mayor Ryan L. Daniel.
Office: 260-248-5111
Fax: 260-248-5105
Office hours 7:30AM-4:00PM*

*To set up an appointment with the Mayor, please call the office in advance as schedules tend to fluctuate from day to day.

Rosie Coyle
Clerk Treasurer

This is my 11th term in office. I have been honored serving our community and the citizens of Columbia City. I am a designated Indiana Accredited Municipal Clerk and have served as District Director for the Indiana Association of Clerks and Clerk Treasurers, served as Executive Director of the Indiana Clerk’s League for Third Class Cities, have served on the Columbia City/Whitley County Joint Planning Board and as a member of our Computer Software User Advisory Board. In 2006 I received the Financial Municipal Management Award for the State of Indiana. In 2014 I was honored to receive a “Distinguished Hoosier” award from Governor Michael Pence. I started working for the City in 1965 and August 2023 marked 58 years at the City.
Office: 260-248-5100
Fax: 260-248-5105

Lisa Smith

I am excited to begin my first term as a member of the Board of Works for Columbia City.  I am honored to be appointed to this position and I am looking forward to serving my community and it’s citizen’s in this role.

I am a graduate of Columbia City Joint High School (1988) and earned a Bachelor of Science in Elementary Education from Olivet Nazarene University (1993).  I have spent the majority of my career working in the field of education and training, and currently am employed by the Don Wood Foundation as their Program Officer for Post-Secondary Education.  I previously held the position of Director of Community Engagement for Ivy Tech Community College, where I was able to bring college classes to the Marshall Community Center in Columbia City.

My husband Josh and I have been married for 32 years and we have three children, McKenzie, McKayla and Logan (Bailey) Smith.  On August 2nd of 2023 we were blessed with our first grandchild, Brock Logan Smith.  I am a member of the Columbia City Church of the Nazarene.

Marcia McNagny
City Attorney

Marcia A. McNagny is a lifelong resident of Whitley County, Indiana. After attending Columbia City Joint High School, she received her bachelor’s degree from Miami University, Oxford, Ohio. She then obtained her JD from Indiana University School of Law, Bloomington, Indiana and returned to Whitley County to open a private practice in Columbia City and to work with her mother, Patricia A. McNagny (JD Indiana University – Bloomington, 1951).

In 1997, McNagny joined Jonathan Myers, Greggory Hockemeyer and Soultana Myers to form what is now Myers Hockemeyer & McNagny LLP. McNagny has served as the City Attorney or Deputy City Attorney for the City of Columbia City since 1998. She often assists non-profit organizations in their establishment and continued operations and has served on numerous boards of organizations. McNagny’s primary areas of focus are estate and succession planning, trust and estate administration, small business, real estate and municipal law.

McNagny is a member of the Whitley County Bar Association, Huntington County Bar Association, Indiana Municipal Lawyers Association, Indiana State Bar Association, American Agricultural Law Association, NAELA, and is a Master Fellow of the Indiana Bar Foundation.

Dan Weigold

I am honored to have the opportunity to serve for my fifth term as your Columbia City Council at Large representative and be selected to serve on Columbia City’s Board of Works. I will continue to bring a high level of trust and responsibility to this position. My ability to listen and openly communicate the issues has been a very rewarding experience. I have resided in Columbia City for 34 years. My current employer is Whitley County Government. There I serve as GIS Coordinator. I serve on the Columbia City Plan Commission and the City’s ordinance review committee. I am currently beginning my tenth year as Columbia City Varsity Softball coach and have been coaching high school athletics for 36 years, 28 years here in Columbia City. I earned the rank of Eagle Scout as a member of the Boy Scouts of America. I am member of the New Hope Wesleyan Church. I’m a member of the Gideons serving with the jail ministries. I enjoy all types of sporting events. Most importantly, spending time with my wife Laura for the past 33 years and counting, son Kyle and daughter in law Kirstie, two grandsons Lincoln and Benjamin. My daughter Anna and son in law Dennis Ratliff. Columbia City is a great place to raise a family. I am very excited and proud to be part of the Columbia City Government that works hard to make our city a prosperous and safe place to live.
Phone: 260-610-8070